Home - What are Akharas?

What are Akharas?

In the context of Indian martial arts or a Sampradaya, which is a monastery for religious renunciates in the Guru-Shishya prampara tradition, an akhara is a location of practise with accommodations for boarding, lodging, and training. Although they receive guru training, akhara members do not lead domestic or cosy lives. Some people follow strict Brahmcharya, which means they are celibate, while others may call for giving up everything in the material world.

There were originally only 4 akharas based on the sampradaya (sect), but these broke into subsidiary akharas as the followership grew and the leadership styles varied. The 13 akharas that were allowed to take part in the Prayagraj Kumbh Mela in January 2019 formed the Akhil Bhartiya Akhara Parishad with two people from each akhara. 

This was done so that akhara-related issues could be handled at all Kumbh melas and across countries. Seven significant Indian Akharas—Mahanirvani, Niranjani, Juna, Atal, Avahan, Agni, and Anand Akharas—were founded by Adi Shankaracharya. 

Embrace the Legacy of Rishi Bharadwaj
Primary Idol is Rishi Bharadwaj
Speciality- One of the Sapta Rishis of Kaliyuga
Opening hours- Monday-Sunday, 05:30-22:00Hrs
Bharadwaj Ashram, located in Prayagraj, Uttar Pradesh, is a significant spiritual and historical landmark associated with the epic Ramayana. Established by Rishi Bharadwaj, one of the Sapta Rishis of Kali Yuga, the ashram stands on the banks of the Ganges, offering a serene environment for meditation and reflection. Historically, Lord Rama, Sita, and Lakshmana visited this ashram during their exile, seeking guidance from the sage. The ashram complex houses the revered Bhardwajeshwar Linga, various ancient idols, and spiritually significant ponds. It's a hub of spiritual activities, especially during Hindu festivals and the Kumbh Mela. With its rich tapestry of legends,...